A Cronut™ by any other name…

29 Aug
The Breakfast (top) and Kaya (bottom) KLonuts

The Breakfast (top) and Kaya (bottom) KLonuts

Malaysians love trendy things, and food, so it’s no surprise that cronuts have debuted here, under the non-trademarked name KLonut, which is a play on the city of origin (Kuala Lumpur) and not Asian pronunciation. They’re available at the equally punnily named Dessert Storm. I’d had my eye on them for a while, and then a college friend came for a visit and gave me my excuse to try them out. Their signature flavor is peanut butter and caramel, but I went with the more “localized” flavors of the week, The Breakfast and the Kaya. I mean, why get a normal cronut when you can get something Malaysian? The Breakfast was filled with Milo-flavored custard and topped with condensed milk and bits of Milo cereal — Malaysia’s version of Cocoa Krispies — while the Kaya was filled with a coconut custard.

So, are cronuts/KLonuts/doissants worth queuing up for, as they do in New York and London? (And have I been living in Malaysia too long, now that I’m saying “queue” instead of “line”?) Now that I have a baby in tow, I’m going to say no, as there is no foodstuff I’m willing to wait for with a potentially cranky infant, even dim sum at Tim Ho Wan’s. Luckily, there was no such crowd at Dessert Storm. We tasted The Breakfast first.

Me: They taste like something I’ve had before…

Tom: They taste like churros.

Me: Yeah, but not like real churros

Tom: Like the ones you get at baseball games.

Me: Those are awesome. [Note: They also sold them at the snack bar at my school, and they were probably the most popular item after curly fries and spam musubi.]

The klonuts also reminded me of yu tiao (which I should really do a post on), which makes sense, since they’re basically fried dough, although they’re just as frequently served as a savory as a sweet. To be honest, I found them to be a bit on the heavy side; I don’t think this is a failing of the KLonut specifically as it is with the entire cronut concept (fried + laminated pastry is bound to be awfully rich, even before the cream filling). Pretty tasty, though, especially the kaya flavor, which wasn’t as sweet as I had feared it would be. Not to mention that it’s in a mall only about 20 minutes from my house. Until J.Co Donuts opens a more convenient outlet, I think I’ll be visiting Dessert Storm for my sugary fried pastries. (I hear that they do pop tarts sometimes, too.)

Leave a Reply

