SOK: Back in Commission

1 Mar

This has been SOK’s longest hiatus yet: over three months since my last post. I have a good excuse, though: just about three months ago, I had a baby. Melissa Mayer notwithstanding, newborns are very time-consuming, and even with a lot of help (both sets of parents and a full-time housekeeper), I didn’t do much for the first month besides sit on the couch and nurse the baby. (And google. The internet is simultaneously the best and worst thing for a new mother.) The next two months were dedicated to catching up on all the things I neglected that first month.

I thought I would kick things off by writing the post I meant for the night my water broke, which was Deepavali (Diwali). Last year I took a class at Bayan Indah and decided to put my new knowledge into effect this year, including homemade murukku. I’ve posted about murukku before, but this was my first time making it.

The murukku press

The murukku press

The homemade stuff is way better than the commercial version, and not that difficult to make, especially if you get someone else to do the frying for you. The hardest part is pressing the murukku out evenly so the coils don’t break.

Murukku dough laid out for frying

Murukku dough laid out for frying

The finished product

The finished product

Even in motherhood, SOK’s food adventures continue! More coming soon, I promise!

One Response to “SOK: Back in Commission”

  1. Debbie March 2, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    Welcome Back! Nicholas was just asking when you were going to write another post. They look delish.

Leave a Reply

