“Are They Made With Real Girl Scouts?”

4 Jul

It’s Independence Day in the US, so I thought I would celebrate with a post about a true American institution: Girl Scout cookies. Non-American readers of SOK may not be familiar with the beloved institution that is the Girl Scout cookies, or for that matter, with the Girl Scouts. Inspired by Britain’s Girl Guides, Juliette Gordon Low founded the Girl Scouts of America as a way to foster independence and resourcefulness in American girls. A couple of biographies of Low came out last year in honor of the GSA’s ? anniversary, and she sounds like a pretty progressive lady.

At some point the Girl Scouts started selling cookies for fundraising, and these achieved a cult status unmatched by any other fundraising comestible that I know of (except maybe huli huli chicken). I mean, when’s the last time your coworkers got excited about buying candy bars to fund some kid’s band trip? Part of the allure is that the cookies are only available at certain times of the year, and only from a Girl Scout (or someone who has a Girl Scout contact). Recently, though, I’ve noticed a trend in mass-market brands shilling Girl Scout cookie-themed products. First there was Edy’s/Breyer’s ice cream; on my recent trip to the US, I found Girl Scout cookie flavored Crunch bars.
I picked up what are the two most popular cookie flavors, Thin Mints and Samoas, which have been renamed Caramel Coconut due to a copyright issue, and not to appease sensitive Pacific Islanders, as I had previously thought.

Both flavors taste more like their cookie progenitors and less like Crunch bars. They’re cookie-like wafers with filling covered in chocolate; the main difference between these bars and Kit Kats is that the chocolate has some puffed rice bits. The Caramel Coconut, née Samoas, was disappointingly not very caramel-y or coconut-y. The Thin Mints, on the other hand, were delicious, despite the fact that I’m not a big fan of the chocolate and mint combo (though I admit that Thin Mints are my favorite Girl Scout cookie). In fact, I think Crunch should look into coming out with a dark chocolate-and-mint flavor to add to their normal lineup.

I’d like to close this post with one of my favorite movie moments about Girl Scout cookies, featuring a too-young-for-words Christina Ricci as Wednesday Addams:

;

Happy Fourth!

One Response to ““Are They Made With Real Girl Scouts?””

  1. Megara July 24, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    I’m with you on the dark chocolate version of the Thin Mint Crunch bar. It would be more authentic. I reserve my milk-chocolate-and-mint combination for my annual intake of Frango Mints, formerly of Mashall Field’s!

Leave a Reply

