Roti Canai (with video!)

11 Feb

This is my first video post! I’m so excited. Roti canai is a kind of unleavened Indian bread that’s very popular in these parts, usually for breakfast; it’s kneaded and pulled and kneaded and pulled again to form a bread that’s fluffy yet chewy at the same time. The coolest part of ordering roti canai is watching the guys make it. The guy at the mamak where I had my roti canai caught me trying to take photos, and kindly offered to let me video him.

Here’s the finished product:

The sauce on the right is curry, or “gravy,” as it’s known here. (Now, that would make for some interesting mashed potatoes.) With a nice kopi ice, it’s the breakfast of champions.

Leave a Reply

