I’ve been cooking Chinese wrong all these years.

14 Jan

I offered to make dinner tonight, from a recipe my mom saw in a Japanese magazine. The recipe called for katakuriko, which literally translates to “shape holding flour,” and which I interpreted as corn starch.

“I thought you said you needed katakuriko,” my mom says to me.

“Yeah, I have it right here,” I reply, holding up the box of corn starch.

“That’s not katakuriko. The katakuriko is in here,” she says, pointing to a bag on the counter labelled helpfully, in English, “KATAKURIKO — Potato starch.”

I’ve been using the wrong ingredient for all these years! But it explains why I can’t find corn starch in KL.

Leave a Reply

