Murukku

10 Nov

Not pretty, but pretty tasty.

Last Friday was the start of Deepavali, or Diwali, the (five-day) Hindu festival of lights, so I thought I’d do a post on murukku, a traditional Diwali food that I’d never heard of until I moved here. One of the radio stations had a PSA explaining the significance of Diwali, with the running joke being that the guy reading the script kept getting distracted by the murukku he was supposed to get afterwards. So it must be delicious, right? Tom brought this home from the office, and I was like, “Is that…MURUKKU?” Unfortunately, that’s only funny to people who have heard the PSA, which in my circle is just me and Tom.

Murukku is, indeed, delicious, though I don’t think it’s so irresistible that I wouldn’t be able to finish reading a paragraph about Diwali before diving in. (By the way, Diwali has the best holiday music ever. We went away for the long weekend and drove around a lot, and the radio was bumping with Bollywood-style Diwali songs. Beats the pants off of hearing “Sleigh Ride” for the 3,000th time.) It’s a mixture of rice and lentil flour with various Indian spices, extruded through a spaghetti-maker like thing and fried. It’s crunchy and savory and smells like the inside of a spice store or an Indian grocery. Great with beer. Not very photogenic, which is something a lot of Indian cuisine seems to suffer from.

If you’d like to give it a try, here’s a recipe, with much more appetizing photos. Be sure to let me know how it turns out!

2 Responses to “Murukku”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Deepavali Delights « Straight Out of Kampung - October 20, 2011

    […] there were the deep-fried treats: the vadai and murukku. As a Malaysian Indian girl told me, “It’s not Deepavali if there’s no murukku.”  I talked […]

  2. SOK: Back in Commission | Straight Out of Kampung - March 1, 2013

    […] to put my new knowledge into effect this year, including homemade murukku. I’ve posted about murukku before, but this was my first time making […]

Leave a Reply

